Casa Gorordo

Casa Gorordo, built in the mid-19th century, was bought by Juan Isidro de Gorordo in 1863. Now under the Aboitiz Foundation, the house has been restored and outfitted as a house museum that showcases the elegant lifestyle at the turn of the century.

The house’s lower floor or zaguan, which traditionally served as a storage space, now houses the offices of the house museum, a small store and an area for art exhibitions. It is built of bituka tabliya (coral stone blocks) and roofed with tile. It has all the typical features of a bahay na bato (balay nga bato): wooden upper story, ventanillas, sliding capiz windows, etc. The second story is furnished with antique furniture and has a collection of costumes, books and memorabilia from the past. Worth noting is the master’s bedroom which displays a collection of sayas. A room in the residence was outfitted to become a chapel because a scion of the Gorordos, Juan (1862-1934), became first Filipino bishop of Cebu (1910-32). The bishop would use the chapel whenever he visited home. The chapel displays a pasyon manuscript in Cebuano. Another item in the house collection is an antique nativity set.

casa gorordo

Photo source

The dining room of the house is separated from the landing or caida and living room by an arch ornately carved with plants and birds. The kitchen at the end of the dining room or comedor is typical of the period. Atypical is the wide balcony or azotea, that runs the whole length of the dining room and kitchen. A trellis supports a bougainvillea plant, that is so large it is almost a tree.

The garden has been landscaped and a new service building, inspired by 19th century architecture, has been built beside Casa Gorordo. (Panublion).

Source: heritageconservation.wordpress.com

Teaser photo source: heritageconservation.wordpress.com